The Sun Shines Down

image

Wherever I go
Whatever I do
Whether I fall down
Or follow through,
The sun shines down;

Pain, it does hurt
These bruises I carry along
Sometimes I want to crawl
Lie down on fallow thoughts
Still the sun shines down;

The road is dark
I grow weary of every last mile
I hear your voice
Calling me in the dark
Saying, ‘Son, just one more yard
Just one more yard down the line.’

How I got here
I know not what or why
Was it the whisky I drank
Did I forget to kiss you goodnight?
I hurt all over
I long for the night to come
And be gone,
To see dawn behind the clouds
And feel the sun shine down.

Leave a Reply

